TL;DR
Get health and wellness essentials delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services has named eight recipients for a three-year initiative totaling $27.8 million to reduce falls among older adults. Each recipient is slated to receive $1,940,162, subject to fund availability, to expand fall-prevention programs and strengthen links between health care and community organizations.
The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services has named eight organizations and public agencies to receive awards under a $27.8 million, three-year initiative aimed at reducing falls among older adults. The awards will support expansion of fall-prevention programs and partnerships between health care providers and community organizations, with two recipients connected directly to home-based care.
HHS said each recipient is set to receive $1,940,162, subject to the availability of funds. The recipients are Health Research, Inc.; Maryland Department of Health; CHPcommunity, Inc., doing business as Iowa Community HUB; AgeOptions, Inc.; Texas A&M University; Partners In Care Foundation; Central Maine Area Agency on Aging; and The Oasis Institute.
The funding is divided among three fall-prevention programs and is intended to expand established interventions, improve coordination between health care and community organizations, and help state and local groups prevent falls. HHS identified two programs for expansion: the CDC’s STEADI initiative, which helps health care providers screen for, assess and address fall risk, and Stepping On, a community program focused on strength, balance and fall-related risks.
Among the recipients, Central Maine Area Agency on Aging offers adult day services, personal support through its Bridges program, meals and caregiver support. The California-based Partners In Care Foundation provides care management, in-home assessments, care-transition support and community-based health programs. The source report did not provide a breakdown of how much each recipient will spend on particular services or locations.
Funding Links Clinics and Communities
Falls can lead to injuries, emergency care and hospital stays, while also affecting whether older adults can continue living safely at home. The CDC figures cited in the source report put the annual toll at about 4.5 million emergency department visits and 1.4 million hospitalizations among older adults. These are annual counts, not estimates of the number of people who will be reached by the new awards.
The initiative’s emphasis on coordination may matter for people receiving care at home. Screening in a clinical setting can identify risk, while community programs and home-care staff may be positioned to support changes in daily routines, strength and balance. The award list includes organizations with experience in both health systems and community services, but HHS has not supplied projected outcomes or a target for falls prevented.
For home-care providers, the initiative also puts attention on a longstanding operational concern: recognizing hazards and responding before a fall leads to emergency treatment. The funding is directed to named recipients and programs; the available announcement does not indicate that it is a general grant pool open to all home-care agencies.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Programs Behind the Awards
STEADI stands for Stopping Elderly Accidents, Deaths & Injuries. The CDC program gives health care providers a framework to identify fall risk and respond through screening and assessment. Stepping On is a community-based program intended to help older adults improve strength and balance and address factors associated with falls. HHS says the awards will expand these programs, though the announcement does not specify which recipients will implement each one or how the three funded programs are divided.
The awards build on fall-prevention efforts already underway in home care, according to Home Health Care News. Bayada Home Health Care introduced its Enhanced Quality of Care Model in 2025 to assess client risks, including fall risk, and allow caregivers to intervene sooner. TheKey has described mandatory staff training on safe transfers and support in clients’ homes. Those examples are separate company initiatives, not part of the HHS awards described in the report.
HHS Secretary Robert F. Kennedy Jr. framed the new investment as both an injury-prevention effort and a way to support older adults living at home and in their communities. The award announcement, as reported by Home Health Care News, does not include a detailed implementation calendar or recipient-by-recipient work plans.
“The training involves how you support a client in their home and perform safe transfers that not only help reduce any form of injury for our caregivers, but also it’s building their confidence, strengthening their skill sets, building new skills. That’s all promoting safety for our clients.”
— Mansi Mehta, TheKey’s vice president of human resource operations, in a prior interview with Home Health Care News
elderly balance and strength training equipment
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Award Plans Still Undetailed
The announcement does not explain how the $27.8 million total will be allocated across the three programs, which recipients will lead each activity, or where the expanded services will operate. It also does not state when funds will be disbursed, how long implementation will take beyond the three-year funding period, or what measures HHS will use to evaluate results.
Each award is subject to fund availability, according to HHS. The department’s predicted reductions in injuries and health care costs are expected benefits, not reported results. No estimates were provided for how many older adults may be served or how many falls the initiative is expected to prevent.
home safety fall prevention products
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Implementation Details to Follow
The named recipients are expected to use the awards to expand fall-prevention work over the three-year funding period, subject to fund availability. The next useful details will be recipient work plans, service locations, program assignments and timelines for rolling out expanded services.
HHS has not provided a schedule for releasing those details in the source report. Progress will be clearer once the department or recipients publish implementation plans and report participation and outcome measures, including whether the programs reach older adults in home and community settings.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
How much money is HHS providing for the initiative?
The initiative totals $27.8 million over three years. HHS says each of the eight named recipients will receive $1,940,162, subject to fund availability.
Who are the award recipients?
The recipients are Health Research, Inc.; Maryland Department of Health; CHPcommunity, Inc., doing business as Iowa Community HUB; AgeOptions, Inc.; Texas A&M University; Partners In Care Foundation; Central Maine Area Agency on Aging; and The Oasis Institute.
Which fall-prevention programs will the awards expand?
HHS says the funding will expand the CDC’s STEADI program and Stepping On. The announcement also refers to three fall-prevention programs overall but does not identify the third program in the source report.
Will all older adults or home-care providers receive funding?
No. The report names eight recipients and does not describe the awards as a general grant program for all older adults or home-care providers. It does not provide details about eligibility for services or whether recipients will make subawards.
When will the programs begin, and how will results be measured?
The funding is planned over three years, but the source report does not give start dates, implementation schedules or evaluation measures. HHS and the recipients have not yet provided those details in the reported announcement.
Source: rss
Columbus Day / Indigenous Peoples' Day Picks
long weekend sales
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
